Quick Links

All students of Medgar Evers College are members of the Student Government Association (SGA). The executive body of the SGA (president, day vice president, evening vice president, corresponding secretary, recording secretary, and treasurer) and elected class representatives constitute the Student Council. The SGA is concerned with many student activities including club budgets, the formation of new clubs, and the sponsoring of extra-curricular programs of intellectual, cultural and social value for the entire student body. The SGA also participates in the College’s decision-making processes that affect the general student body.

Additionally, by participating in various college-wide and departmental committees, students have the opportunity to share in the full range of responsibilities present in the planning and governance of the academic and non-academic aspects of student life at Medgar Evers College. The following is the membership for the 2015-2016 Student Council:


Asha Edwards-Newton
Email: AEdwards-Newton@mec.cuny.edu

Day Vice President

Roderick Hurley
Email: RHurley@mec.cuny.edu

Evening Vice President

Tonique Bynoe
Email: tbynoe@mec.cuny.edu

Recording Secretary

Leozard Simon
Email: lesimon@mec.cuny.edu

Coresponding Secretary

Taneeka Jackson
Email: tjackson@mec.cuny.edu


Asuma Jalloh
Email: ajalloh@mec.cuny.edu

Senior Class President

Quincy Gabriele
Email: qgabriele@mec.cuny.edu

Senior Class Representative

Shepbvain Alleyne
Email: shalleyne@mec.cuny.edu

Senior Class Representative

Stacy Ann James
Email: stjames@mec.cuny.edu

Senior Class Representative

Merlica Jn Baptiste
Email: mjnBaptiste@mec.cuny.edu

Junior Class President

Sharon Yvonne James
Email: shjames@mec.cuny.edu

Junior Class Representative

Johnathan Kennedy
Email: jokennedy@mec.cuny.edu

Junior Class Representative

Dwayne Omar Best
Email: domarBest@mec.cuny.edu

Junior Class Representative

Yahya Mused
Email: ymused@mec.cuny.edu

Sophomore Class President

Avamar Muttler
Email: amuttler@mec.cuny.edu

Sophomore Class Representative

Unis Phillips
Email: uphillips@mec.cuny.edu

Sophomore Class Representative

Frantz Simon
Email: Simon8561@gmail.com

Sophomore Class Representative

Lanieka Lyons
Email: Lyons.lanieka@yahoo.com

Freshman Class President

Latonia Cox
Email: lcox@mec.cuny.edu

Freshman Class Representative

Kedie Pintro
Email: kediep@yahoo.com

Freshman Class Representative

Paulina Toussaint Cox
Email: ptoussaintCox@mec.cuny.edu

SGA Parliamentarian

Omeil Morgan
Email: omorgan@mec.cuny.edu

SGA Office Manager

Cheryl Singletary
Email: csinletary@mec.cuny.edu 

SGA Events Planner

Latchmie Marajh
Email: lmarajh@mec.cuny.edu

The Student Government Association office is located in Room S-210 of the Student Support Services Building and can be reached via e-mail at student-gov@mec.cuny.edu or by phone (718) 270-6240.

Student Government Association
Asha Edwards-Newton,
1637 Bedford Ave.,
Room S-210
Brooklyn, NY, 11225

computer labs
female student